Selection Announced

Invitees announced For Cell C Goodwave WSL Specialty Event

Durban – The 32 surfers invited to surf in the 2017 Cell C Goodwave WSL Specialty surf contest have been announced, and the list is an exciting mix of old school chargers and new school wizardry. The event will take place at New Pier, Durban, and the selection criteria is that the surfers need to have good experience and a solid reputation at the New Pier when the waves get solid.

The tournament has a one-year waiting period. When the forecast for New Pier looks excellent, the one-day contest will be called on with a 48-hour notice, and these selected surfers will need to make their way to Durban for an early morning start on the day of competition. That day will be called with the assistance of swell forecaster Spike from

Apart from the 32 surfers invited there will also be 32 alternate surfers. Contest organizers are also willing to accept walk-ups on the day.

The 32 invited surfers are:

Grant Baker, Ricky Basnett, Matt Bromley, Paul Canning

Beyrick de Vries, Chad du Toit, Greg Emslie, Damien Fahrenfort

Mikey February, Mike Frew, Sean Holmes

Brandon Jackson, Richard Kidd, Chris Leppan, Dylan Lightfoot

Matt MacGillivray, Frankie Oberholzer, Brendan O’Connor, Simon Nicholson

Noel Rahme, Dan Redman, Josh Redman, Jason Ribbink, 

Gavin Roberts, Robbie Schofield, Dale Staples, Shane Sykes, 

Shane Thorne, Gary van Wieringen, Davey van Zyl, Davey Weare, Warwick Wright.

St Francis Bay resident Ricky Basnett made the short list © FLANAGAN

Alternates, in no order:

Secret International VIP, Alan Johns, Josh Smit, Jordy Maree, Adin Jeenes, Simon Fish, Joshe Faulkner, Matt Pallet, Stever Sawyer, Dylan Stewart, Lee Bisset, Scott Venter, Billy Payne, Scott Hamilton, Ryan Payne, Sam Christianson, Casey Grant, Ben Dancaster, Bevan Willis, Koby Oberholzer, Antonio Bortoletto, Manfred Adrio, Wes O’Driscoll, Elton Cuthbert, Andrew Lange, Blane Wood, Chris Frolich, Wade Simkiss, Rene Terblanche, Frank Solomon, Mikhael ‘MK’ Vawda, Andrew Banks.  

On top of this the contest organisers will also accept walk-up entries on the day. The contest costs R1 to enter, and first prize is R100k.

California Dreaming, overlooking New Pier on the beachfront, will host the competition on the day. Oakley is a supporting sponsor.

The Cell C Goodwave is a South African Surfing Legends event, with Jason Ribbink the contest director.

The contest is also sanctioned by Surfing South Africa. It is an invite-only event.


The Cell C Goodwave – in loving memory of Lee Wolins.

For more information contact


About The World Surf League

The World Surf League (WSL), formerly the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a truly global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.

For more information, please visit


About Cell C

Cell C is a leading mobile operator in South Africa offering consumers a wide range of products and services. Offering some of the best value in the market, Cell C prides itself on innovation and value-for-money products and services. Cell C is currently the only mobile operator in South Africa to offer customers Free Facebook and basic Internet services through Facebook’s Free Basics. It is also the only mobile operator in South Africa to offer customers Wi-Fi Calling services commercially. Supported by its highly advanced network covering 98% of the country’s population, Cell C offers 2G, 3G, LTE and LTE-Advanced services. Cell C is also the proud sponsor of the Cell C Sharks and Miss South Africa.

If you do not want to receive any more newsletters, this link

To update your preferences and to unsubscribe visit this link
Forward a Message to Someone this link

Leave a reply

Copyright: Goodwave 2019