Thirty two of South Africa's premier surfers on the New Pier Durban's best day of waves in 2017 with a hundred grand to the winner.



Durban – The event organisers of the 2018 Cell C Goodwave have announced the invited surfers for the upcoming tournament. The one year waiting period for this contest officially starts on 20 January 2018, and only one day of surfing is required to run the event to completion. The Cell C Goodwave enjoys support from Sun International, as well as Oakley, and the event will be hosted by California Dreaming.  

The invitees, in no particular order:

1. Brandon Jackson

2. Matt McGillivray read more

3. Dale Staples

4. Shane Sykes

5. Mikey February

6. Josh Redman

7. Jason Ribbink

8. Dan Redman

9. Ricky Basnett

10. Beyrick De Vries

11. Dylan Lightfoot

12. Chad Du Toit

13 Damien Fahrenfort

14. Brendon Gibbens read more

15. Sean Holmes

16. Davey Van Zyl

17. Greg Emslie

18. Matt Bromley

19. Eli Beukes

20. Chris Leppan read more

21. Twiggy Baker read more

22. Casey Grant

23. Paul Canning

24. Slade Prestwich

Alternates, in no particular order:

Shaun Joubert, Richard Kidd, Shaun Payne, Frankie Oberholzer, Simon Fish, Jordy Maree, Steven Sawyer, Davey Weare, Chris Frolich, Blaine Wood, Allan Johns, Benji Brand, Gary Van Weirengen, Mike Frew, Simon Nicholson, Ford Van Jaarsveldt, Brendan O’Connor, Warwick Wright, Robbie Schofield, Gavin Roberts.

For this list of surfers there was a panel of 7 people who were involved in the selection process, including active pro surfers, former pro surfers, as well as representatives from the surf industry and media. The selection criteria and process is at the discretion of the event organisers, and no correspondence will be entered into.

The event organiser will accept walk-ups on the day, should there be openings.

The event has a R1 entry fee, and this must be paid before surfing. No exceptions.

Prize money breakdown:

1st place R120k

2nd place R40k

3rd place R20k

4th place R10k 

Lee Wolins Memorial Prize for Surfer Of The Event – R10k

Total prize pool – R200k


The 2018 Cell C Goodwave is officially listed as a World Surf League Specialty Event. 

The Cell C Goodwave is supported by Sun International

The Cell C Goodwave is supported by Oakley.

The Cell C Goodwave is powered by California Dreaming.

The event is sanctioned by Surfing South Africa.

 The Cell C Goodwave – in loving memory of Lee Wolins.


For more information contact


About Cell C

In spite of penetration of over 140% of mobile services in South Africa – particularly in the prepaid market – Cell C’s growth continues apace. Cell C currently has more than 16 million subscribers. The momentum and success of Cell C’s innovative and value added products and services over the past few years, with its core consumer values of honesty, simplicity and transparency, has resulted in a positive consumer response.
Cell C has extensively invested in expanding and upgrading its network coverage and capacity over the last few years. Its network provides coverage to over 98% of the country’s population. Cell C offers 2G, 3G, LTE (4G) and LTE-Advanced services and continuously invests in expanding and upgrading its network to offer customers the latest technologies.




Copyright: Goodwave 2019